Blank

 Is it possible to just blank out and have nothing to write about?  These last two weeks we have had system overload in tech class.  I can barely remember programs that we are learning about.  Dr. Ransom had good advice telling us to use the stuff we are learning in a personal way.  He gave the example of communicating with relatives overseas.  I would love to do that but life keeps getting in the way.  Every time I sit down at the computer I feel as if I should be doing schoolwork, not fooling around with new programs.  I could make my homework in tech class to take time and try new things, but I have to do a research paper for that class.  I could have done it today during my sons nap.  However, the sun was shining as it rarely does and I could not stay inside.  What is the best technology?  What programs are more important to know.  Is there a way to narrow down the list so that we can concentrate on the programs that we might see in the future.  When I am at the schools where I am observing this semester the students are mostly using the computer for reading programs.  In class we have not learned about these reading programs.  Will they be taught to us by the school district we work in or are they self explanatory?  I wish I could say I am seeing kidspiration projects on the walls, or evidence of a class blog, but I am not.  Do these teachers know what we know or are we the next generation of teacher?  I definitely feel more tech savvy.  In the future may it come in handy.

3 Responses to “Blank”

  1. I think you just try whatever works for this moment. Maybe you incorporate one program or one idea, and then all of the sudden when you are lesson planning, you’ll hearken back to something you learned in class. Like the ePals or the typing program or Kidspiration. Even if you use it once througout an entire year, it may be a impressionable tool. I think you don’t sweat using every single thing we learned, just know it’s out there. Definitely add all of the resources to the del.icio.us page so that they are there when you want to refresh yourself as to what is possible.

  2. My college experience has been about learning the tools of the future. When I walk into the classroom for observation, I see no evidence of what I was taught as best practices and no sign of willingness to learn. Not enough teachers are taking the time to become familar with new practices, new technology or if they are familar they have given up trying to use them. Everyone is busy and teachers carry an even bigger load, but don’t put your students off. They are our future and they deserve a facilitator that is willing to try. I think if you incoporate some of your technology tools we are learning, at certain times, that is great. I think you will find the best technology out there is when your students react to the lesson. Teacher reflection can really help clarify what went well and what could use some fine tuning in the future.

  3. Stephen Ransom Says:

    @Mike, sadly teachers are not being equipped with the knowledge and tools you are learning about. They are about 5-10 years behind and often would rather plunk students in front of computers and let the computers do the work (computer-assisted instruction) than find creative ways to use computing technologies to empower and motivate kids to learn. And, in all fairness to the number of tools out there that I presented – what is most important I think is the teaching principles behind ANY of them, not that you remember each one. If you have student engagement and meaningful, relevant learning at the forefront of all that you do, you will be able to apply some of these tools in the right circumstances for the right goals and outcomes. The comments of your peers here is also very good – take one tool and try to implement it in an effective way. If you do only that much you are ahead of the game and are on this exciting road of improvement and lifelong learning. Just don’t get stale like so many teachers to – and do enjoy the sunshine 🙂

Leave a comment