Starstruck

I had the pleasure of going to Martha’s Vineyard last summer and enjoying a week with family.  The whole time I was there I kept saying that I wanted to see James Taylor.  He lives on the vineyard and has been known to be very nice.  He is also my absolute favorite recording artist.  Well my week came to an end and I did not get to meet my idol.  However, as I was waiting for the ferry back to the mainland, who should come up and stand right next to me but Carly Simon (ex-wife of James Taylor)and her son (with James Taylor) Ben Taylor,who happens to be a up and coming recording artist.  I played it wicked cool and left them alone so I would not be considered stalkerazzi.  When we all got on the boat I conveniently decided to take my son for a walk around the boat.  I passed Carly and Ben and noticed they were working on a computer.  On my second pass I noticed they were composing or tweaking their music using, you guessed it Garageband.  So this is a long way to go just to relate a story about the new technology learned about in class, but I though it was neat to know that professional musicians use this piece of software that we now know about.  So as you do your podcasts pretend you are your favorite musician because you never know maybe your favorite song was mixed using Garageband technology.

Leave a comment