The Sleeping Teacher

I can understand getting away with plagiarism.  That is sneaky and there are ways to cover your tracks.  A good teacher will do research at the first hint of plagiarism.  But a sleepy teacher may let it pass.  This really does harm the student.  To allow a student to think they are beating the system will someday catch up with them.  However, the cheating stuff, I found a little crazy.  What teacher is going to let a student look at a phone or listen to the i-pod during a test.  If they do allow it they deserve to be cheated on and cheers to the student smart enough to beat the lazy teacher.  I don’t think technology is the worry for cheating.  I was more impressed with the old school forms of cheating.  The rubber band trick is a good one and the writing on clothes or a water bottle could work.  In my career as a student I have tried and been successful but the worry and anxiety that goes on was so tough I should have just studied.  As a future teacher I will be vigilant in my quest to knock out cheating.  During test clear desks, walk the room, have students move to a different area, be creative and be awake.

One Response to “The Sleeping Teacher”

  1. Stephen Ransom Says:

    And think about multiple ways to assess students… more authentic ways. We have put perhaps too much emphasis on high-stakes tests that mostly measure recall. Although there is certainly something to be said for the discipline of studying, there are so many missed opportunities for more authentic assessments that get beyond the mere recall of information and require students to apply new knowledge. If our emphasis becomes more balanced, perhaps students won’t feel the need to cheat quite as much.

Leave a comment